Move over Biker Jackets the Bomber Jacket is back!

What is going on with the weather?

Does Mother Nature not realise that March, is in fact, officially Spring?

By this time in the proceedings, I had planned to be wearing lighter weight jackets, and my lily-white feet were supposed to have seen the light of day again!

Snow and freezing temperatures are not on my agenda!!

Taking stock of the above I have decided to post about a trend that could well see me through this little climatic blip – ‘The Bomber Jacket’

First introduced during World War 1, (when cockpits were not enclosed) Belgium and France issued pilots with leather jackets in a bid to keep them warm. At the time leather was believed to be the warmest material available. This idea was quickly picked up by the Americans and soon their fighter pilots were issued with leather flight jacket, the term ‘Bomber Jacket’ was born.

Gregory Peck in 'Twelve o' Clock High'

Gregory Peck in ‘Twelve o’ Clock High’

I was the proud owner of a Bomber Jacket back in the 80’s, when I, along with every other teenage girl, developed an obsession with Top Gun. I was ever so slightly misguided and believed that by sporting a Bomber Jacket, a la Kelly Mcgillis, I would somehow meet my Maverick or Ice Man…I really wasn’t fussy which turned up, as long as he sang ‘You’ve Lost that Loving Feeling’!

Top Gun, still one of my favourites!

Top Gun, still one of my favourites!

Amazingly, this didn’t happen!?!!

For some reason there just weren’t that many fighter pilots milling around Surrey…In my opinion suburbia would be a far more exciting place if they did!

For Summer, the Bomber has re-emerged as the must have item for all style conscious women. It is nigh on impossible to find a S/S ’13 collection which doesn’t feature at least one.

I’m up for it!

A heavy dose of nostalgia and rose-tinted spectacles have left me with a soft spot for this iconic piece of outer wear.

At Loewe, the Spanish home of leather, bomber jackets were beautiful works of art, embossed with roses or bejewelled with giant flowers.

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 13.36.07

Whilst at Jonathan Saunders they were clean and metallic,

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 13.39.16

Erdem’s Bomber was prettied up by mixing in print,

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 13.50.11

and Stella McCartney went sporty and simple.

Screen Shot 2013-03-11 at 13.53.35

So is it time for the Biker Jacket to move over and let the Bomber take its place?

Here are some of the Bomber offerings on the High Street…

River Island - Beige leather look sleeve bomber jacket, £45

River Island – Beige Leather Look Sleeve Bomber Jacket, £45

French Connection- Petal Bomber Jacket , £120

French Connection- Petal Bomber Jacket , £120

Top Shop- Printed Oversized Bomber Jacket, £70

Top Shop- Printed Oversized Bomber Jacket, £70

Oasis - Collarless Bomber, £40

Oasis – Collarless Bomber, £40

Whisltes- Orchid Print Silk Bomber, £155

Whistles- Orchid Print Silk Bomber, £155

Twenty plus years after my Kelly Mcgillis moment, I am feeling very old.

Seeing a trend appear for the second is definitely a kick in the stomach…how did I get to be old enough for this to be possible!!?!

Are you a Bomber or Biker Jacket fan?

Will you be joining me in a Top Gun, Bomber Jacket wearing (although admittedly, a bit more stylish than the 80’s) revival?

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “Move over Biker Jackets the Bomber Jacket is back!

  1. I dunno?? I think a good rule of thumb is that if you’ve worn if first time round, perhaps it’s better to give it a miss when it comes around again. Mind you, I apply that rule very selectively, it has to be said! Whilst I like them on others, bomber jackets don’t suit me .. I think it’s the neckline. So despite the lovely selection, I’ll probably stick with the biker jacket style. (whilst clearly reserving the right to completely change my mind within the next few weeks!!)

  2. Hi there! I love your picks here, I must admit I wouldn’t go out to buy one but mainly because I can borrow my eldest sons newish B-Side bomber, which is black and midnight blue satin (I wore it in my post to LFW). I had a really lovely velvet and satin sleeved bomber from Next in the 80s, if it were still around i would wear it, it was quite timeless style wise!!

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

