Onwards to Milan Fashion Week.

Phew…I’m out the other side of half term.

Lovely as it is to have the girls around, you don’t get much done!! The week has been a blur of playdates, squabbles and freezing myself senseless in various parks.

Hurrah, they’re back at school and I get to post about Milan Fashion Week.

Milan is one of my favourite cities for shopping and eating and my favourite restaurant has got to be Bagutta. If you’re visiting Milan, give it a try, they seriously do the best profiteroles ever!

Anyway…here are my Milan Fashion Week highlights so far…

Prada– What can I say? Miuccia Prada is a genius, does she ever get it wrong? Prada’s signature felted fabrics, belted waists and oversized bags were all in attendance, along with sequined embellishments and a new emphasis on skirts and paneling. Oversized cuff details on coats and jacket, plus the use of mink in the form of trims and jackets gave this collection the feeling of pared down glamour, as only Prada can. It’s a long shot but all donations, Miuccia will be gratefully received!!

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 15.08.03

Marni – Be it approved of or not, this was another fur filled show, personally, I think I’d rather fake it. Fur stoles, boots and peplums were used to take the edge off strapless dress’s and tops made in masculine tailoring fabrics. Photographic, monotone, forest prints in prom dress silhouettes and brushed striped coats all added to the quirky, eclectic edge Marni is so well known for.

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 18.43.44

Bottega Veneta – One of my favourites. If money were no object, I would quite happily spend my life in Bottega Veneta. Probably not too appropriate for the school run but if money were no object, I wouldn’t be doing the school run!! Tomas Maier said one of the things he was exploring with collection was “to create embellishment out of poverty”. Not sure if he managed it, but he did manage to create a beautifully sharp and elegant collection.

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 18.56.45

Jil Sander – The queen of clean. This collection is a master class in minimalism. Clever cutting, luxurious fabrics and printed cashmere. The collection’s sophisticated blend of muted colours was peppered with highlights of orange, blues, yellow and subtle, yet perfectly placed flashes of gold. I totally want this collection, I’m not feeling too positive that I shall get it!!

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 19.14.12

Just time for one more…

Alberta Ferretti –  This collection was feminine, elegant and fragile. Silhouettes and embellishments, perfectly conjured up the essence of the Edwardian era. The use of black and white leant a hand to create a clean, graphic feel, for the pretty embroidered dresses, skirts with frills and ruffles, high collars and equestrian-esque fitted jackets. Alberta Ferretti at her best, me thinks!

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 19.33.17

Which are your favourites or have I missed them?

On Friday I will be posting my February Lust List. I’m feeling it will be more ‘Lust’ than ever, as I appear to want my wardrobe consisting mainly of excruciatingly expensive designer brands..HEY HO!!!

Until next time…

6 thoughts on “Onwards to Milan Fashion Week.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

