I’m excited about Winter 2013!

I’m totally overexcited…It’s taken me a week to post about it, but last Sunday, I finally got to breathe the same oxygen as ASHLEY BANJO! Yes, my dirty little secret, (well, one of them at least) I have a tiny crush on ‘The Banjo’.

Is that very wrong?

My lovely cousin got me and the girls’ VIP tickets to watch the live filming of ‘Got To Dance’. For a wonderful  2 hours, I had a fabulous view of Mr Banjo’s back. Only one thing could make me happier, and that is a ‘One Direction’ concert.

This, I know is very wrong but I can’t help it!!

Waiting with Aunty Jo!

Waiting with Aunty Jo!

So, from one excitement to another.

Wednesday 6th February saw the beginning of the A/W ’13-14 round of fashion weeks.

Proceedings were kicked off in New York, in appropriately snowy style.

I therefore, bring to you, my New York Fashion Week favourites, (in no particular order) so far…

First up Marc by Marc Jacobs – A really commercial range, with a subtle 70’s flavour. Subdued colours were warmed up with pinks, reds and purples. Highlights were added in the form of colourful plaids and all over geometric and leaf prints. Sassy pencil skirts and swinging A-line dresses were counter balanced with mannish tailoring and super cropped trousers.  I’m rather liking this collection!!

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 10.06.17

Next up, DKNY– Vogue described this show as ‘Grunge with a grown up, sporty vibe’, I think that pretty much sums it up. Bomber jackets, Parkas with fur collars, quilted sweatshirts, tube dresses and oversized, menswear inspired outerwear; all interspersed with shots of neon pink and tomato red, animal print and colour blocking. I’m a huge fan of this relaxed, easy to wear, clean style of dressing.

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 13.18.34

Victoria Beckham– When Mrs Beckham launched her 1st Ready to Wear collection, I along with many of my designer friends were dubious. Well, here I am, 5 years later eating humble pie! Figure and finance allowing, I would very happily wear all of this collection. Colour, sleeve detailing and splits were plentiful. Traditional, British milled woollens were used for the tailored pieces and in keeping with this, the collection was produced in Britain. A/W ’13 also sees Victoria Beckham’s first foray into knitwear, with the use of  gorgeous double-faced cashmere. Yum!

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 14.33.30

Derek Lam – Managed to create a show that had me drooling. Seriously, I’m going to lust after this collection!! He has managed to combine, fashion and function with minimal perfection. This collection is all uncluttered, clean lines, but the use of crochet fringing has brought femininity to the range. The colour palette was blocks of  navy, off whites and camels. I hope Cos are sitting up and taking notice, this is right up their street!

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 20.35.52

Finally, it’s Vera Wang – Be it fairytale wedding dresses or her mainline range, Vera Wang creates exceptionally beautiful clothing. Her A/W ’13 collection is rammed full of sumptuous fabrics, jacquards, furs, silks and sparkles, it’s all about texture, and sculpted shapes. The net result is a sexy, sophisticated occasionwear collection.

Screen Shot 2013-02-12 at 21.09.26

So which collections are your favourites?

That’s all… for now folks!

Until next time…

4 thoughts on “I’m excited about Winter 2013!

  1. Oh forget the collections – I have a secret fondness for One Direction too. It feels very bad but I’m fascinated by them probably because they are all so pretty. And Ashley Banjo – he always seems like such a nice man and with muscles. Hee hee.

    Okay – back to the collections. Love Derek Lam – beautiful and wearable. Lovely colours – classic but he’s made it all look really fresh. And I love the first look on the Vera Wang – so dressed up in such a nonchalant stuck my hands in my very expensive trousers bad ass kind of way. I want to wear that one.

    • Hi, So glad it’s not just me with the One Direction fascination! I’m totally obsessed with the Derek Lam collection and will be following this post with another next week about the remainder of NY Fashion Week and the beginning of London!!!!! Fingers crossed there’s more to obsess about. Have a good weekend. x

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

