The Problem with a Peplum!

Well, Tuesdays’ Lust List was received with a raised eyebrow & a derisive shake of the head by Mr R.

My spidey senses are picking up, that he was not overly impressed with my extravagant taste levels!

He need not worry, as I have found one thing that will not be turning up on a lust list anytime soon, and that is any item of clothing which happens to have a peplum attached to it.

Is it just me, or does anyone else have a problem with wearing them?

A quick history lesson – The peplum first made an appearance in the late 1930’s, before rationing took hold, and when fabric was freely available. It quickly disappeared during the war only to  re-emerge, with a flourish, in the form of such glorious pieces as The Bar Jacket by Christian Dior. This heralded The New Look era.

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 16.59.02

As is the way with trends, the peplum stuck around for a while, then vanished, returning a few decades later. The 1980’s saw the 2nd coming of the peplum.

SJP in Sex And The City in a vintage 1980's peplum dress

SJP in Sex And The City in a vintage 1980’s peplum dress.

Once again, the peplum is enjoying a revival. It’s been around for a few seasons now, but shows no signs of disappearing. S/S ’13 still had a fair few of them knocking around.

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 12.59.54

From left to right- Burberry, Badgley Mischka, Ralph Lauren

I can, hand on heart, say that I have tried really hard to get along with them, but they just don’t suit me!!

I am aware that in the world of fashion, all peplums are not created equal.

Some are fuller and suit a more boyish figure, creating curves, where there are none. Others are slightly less fluted, falling gently over the hips of a fuller figure, giving a sexy, Jessica Rabbit appearance.

This being the case, there should be a peplum for everyone…so where the hell is mine?

I have searched high and low and, as yet, the perfect peplum for me has been very elusive.

To prove my point, here I am managing to annihilate, what is probably, a very nice, French Connection, peplum top.

IMG_0064 “My God, Kat your boobs look huge in that!”. Was my sisters immediate response upon seeing this oh so flattering picture.

Give her her due, she does have a point. This is definitely not working for me!

The problem is that I have, either a very long body or incredibly large boobs, or a mixture of the two!

The waist seam, annoyingly, never, ever ends up on my waist, but usually hovers 3cm above it. The result look is that of an empireline dress/ top that has gone very drastically wrong.

I am quite obviously a freak of nature, who will have to accept that this is a trend I shall not be partaking in.

Make me feel better…Does anyone else share the same problem, or is there a trend/ item of clothing that try as you may just won’t work for you?

Until next time!

9 thoughts on “The Problem with a Peplum!

  1. Hi there! Shame the top doesn’t work for you, I have a 50s peplum dress of my mums which is similar in style to Carries one above and I think it works well because the peplum is more ‘skirted’. I couldn’t go for a peplum top though, I know it wouldn’t really suit me! Hope you have a great weekend too xx

  2. I’m short-waisted, so I know I wouldn’t have the same problem as you. Still pretty sure it wouldn’t suit me and just not my style anyway!

  3. It’s a style that definitely doesn’t suit me. I spend my life trying to conceal the unwanted lumps & bumps of the tummy area and when I try on peplum tops, I’m convinced it makes the problem worse, And to be honest (whispers …) I don’t really like peplums very much anyway … even on SJP!

  4. I think I’m just coming round to them but I won’t be buying. I’ve enough worries trying to find the perfect pair of skinny jeans. Whilst everyone is looking for boyfriend jeans (of which I have far too many), I have taken it up on myself to go and look for skinnys. And it is hard because being 5ft 1.5″ and curvy hips – oh those skinnys can be harsh! But like you say – there is something out there to suit everyone – it’s just finding it.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

