I Love Selfridges!!!

The first episode of Mr Selfridge was aired on Sunday and so it felt like the perfect time to write a post about my mecca Selfridges.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 14.52.02

We have Harrods, Harvey Nic’s and Liberty but for me it is Selfridges that ticks the box every time.

If I ever have money burning a hole in my pocket (which, sadly is not a regular phenomenon), it is to the Marble Arch end of Oxford Street that I will head.

What can’t you buy in Selfridges?

My love affair with this aspirational one-stop shop began when I was 14 or 15, and it has been a constant companion throughout the different phase/ stages of my life.

Whilst studying fashion design at University I used to wander the floors drooling over designer clothes and shoes that I could only dream of owning.

Once working as a fashion designer I still wandered the floors drooling but I was a step closer to the coveted items. For research purposes and under the guise of ‘comparative shopping’ I now needed to try them on & occasionally buy them. This only fuelled the fire…so close yet still so far away!

Mr R has always found ‘comparative shopping’ a very amusing concept.

“I’m comparative shopping today” has become a joke in our house and is always met with a derisory smirk.

It didn’t take Mr R long to have me sussed. 9 times out of 10 Selfridges is top of my destination list.

Yes I do my job but some personal shopping will inevitably find its way in and as an old Design Director of mine used to say “An army marches on it’s belly” so lunch and cake stops are an absolute must!. It’s a tough job but some bodies got to do it!!

As a DINKY (dual income no kids yet) working on Baker Street, I used Selfridges Food Hall like a local Tesco Metro! What on earth  was I thinking?!

Having children did not manage to stop my trips to Selfridges. In fact, with close to hand car parking and plenty of lifts and toilets dotted around it is actually the perfect place to take a pushchair!

Nowadays Selfridges Gift Vouchers have become a welcome part of mine and my relative lives. Buying a present for me can be tricky business, some may call me fussy! A gift voucher from the shop that sells everything is a failsafe pressie for me, it solves a problem and everyone is happy!

The Grande Dame of department stores is still my firm favourite for comparative shopping, and now a place I take clients personal shopping.

It’s perfect and you don’t have to have a huge budget to buy. The ‘Street Fashion’ area and the fabulous ‘Shoe Galleries’ (I think I’ve died and gone to heaven whenever I’m there), are affordable if you select the right brand.

Screen Shot 2013-01-07 at 15.51.55

The whole shopping experience is complete when your shiny new purchase is handed to you in a bright yellow Selfridges bag! It doesn’t get better.

I have recently heard a rumour that my favourite store is to expand…this is obviously music to my ears.

I would like to say a great be thank you to Mr Harry Gordon Selfridge for all the many happy hours of browsing and shopping that I’ve passed and will continue to pass inside the four walls that are Selfridges.

Camilla Morton recently tweeted that he is the Willy Wonka of shopping, I couldn’t agree more!

Do you have a favourite shop/ shopping area?

Until next time happy shopping!

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/4354067/?claim=5qjch5djf8x”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “I Love Selfridges!!!

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

