School Run Style & Other Stuff.

Oh my goodness!

Disaster has struck…this post is about a week late as I have been knocked flat by an early Christmas present, that little lemon delight… The Nurovirus!! It’s been lovely!!

That aside and thankfully over, it’s the last week of school before Christmas and as with every year, it has spiralled into complete chaos.

I have been in a baking (I use the term very loosely) frenzy, for the school fair. I’m a bit concerned; I hope my culinary efforts don’t kill anyone!

I have also been getting creative with my sewing machine. It’s been a while old friend. Daughter #2 needed to be dressed in ‘ancient Bethlehem’ clothes for her school play. What do they look like?!?!

I set to the task with a limited amount of enthusiasm. No Amazon costumes for me this year.  My finished, deconstructed offering would make Martin Margiela proud!!

Anyway, all of this added to the general day to day stuff got me thinking. Through the craziness, I manage to achieve more by 8.30am than I’m sure I ever did by lunchtime BC (before children).

I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in this and with all the rushing and sorting I’m always amazed that we all end up at school on time and fully clothed.

A school uniform for the girls makes for a ‘choice free’ and therefore ‘hassle free’ dressing session, but I’m a different matter.

The likes of Claudia Schiffer and SJP (plus about a million ‘paps’) have turned the school run into a virtual runway. Thank you so very much! It is no longer ok to roll out of bed and rock up to the school gate in your pj’s.

Screen Shot 2012-12-06 at 20.38.23

Screen Shot 2012-12-06 at 20.34.03

So how are us mere mortals, with no nanny, personal chef, personal trainer or wardrobes full of designer clothes going to keep up with this?

The answer, I believe, is to develop a school run style/ uniform of your own.

A school run uniform has a few requirements. It should be practical, comfortable, and easy to pull together at lightening quick speed. It should be just enough but not too much.

That can’t be too difficult then!

I have spent the last few months honing my winter school run uniform and now feel that I have it nailed. Every day is a variation on a theme.

The theme… shoe/ boots/ hi-tops, basically, flat is the order of the day! Jeans, in a variety of fits and colours, tees and knits, a parka, jacket or blazer of some description and as many accessories as I can carry without looking like a Christmas tree!!

Not rocket science I’ll admit but it working for me, and it means I get five more precious minutes in bed!

 

 

2 thoughts on “School Run Style & Other Stuff.

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

