Slimming + Sweating = Swimwear Shopping

Urrgh, I am sooooo hungry all the time!!!!

I could just about put up with constantly feeling like I  want to eat my own arm, if the number on the scales moved downwards more rapidly.

This is an excruciatingly slow and painful process for someone like me, who wants instant results and has a major problem with patience!!

So in order to keep myself motivated I thought I would post about the reason for this diet/ exercise onslaught…the dreaded Swimwear Shop.

Yes, it is that time of year when (if you’re luck) a summer holiday is looming on the horizon. Unfortunately a summer holiday also brings with it the stress of swimwear and more precisely the body that goes into said swimwear!

I am determined to sort it out this year so I have allotted three months instead of my normal three days to toning and trimming… will this plan work?

I’m going with a “yes” and with this positive attitude firmly in place, I am going to start my quest for flattering/ stylish swimwear…does it even exist if you’re not a Victoria’s Secret model!?!

First stop, not cheap but surely SPANX, with their ‘suck it all in’ technology have got it right!!

Spanx- Whittle waistline draped one shoulder one piece, £195 reduced to £146.25

Spanx- Whittle waistline draped one shoulder one piece, £195  reduced to £146.25

SPANX - Full coverage bottom, £82 reduced to £61.50

Spanx- Full coverage bottom, £82 reduced to £61.50

Or how about Miraclesuit?

They promise to make you look 10lbs lighter in 10 seconds!!!

Miraclesuit- Camilla strapless swimming costume, £135

Miraclesuit- Camilla strapless swimming costume, £135

Miraclesuit- Single strap swimsuit, £135

Miraclesuit- Single strap swimsuit, £135

Maybe a bit of strategic panelling is required?!?

Anna & Boy- Panelled swimsuit, £186

Anna & Boy- Panelled swimsuit, £186

Melissa Odabash_ Bahamas bandeau swimsuit, £201

Melissa Odabash – Bahamas bandeau swimsuit, £201

These are all a little pricey but I’m assuming you get what you pay for!!

However if you’re after a slightly more purse friendly option, how about these?

Marks & Spencer- Autograph tummy control pleated halterneck swimsuit,  £35

Marks & Spencer- Autograph tummy control pleated halterneck swimsuit, £35

Debenhams- Elle tummy control bandeau swimsuit, £32 reduced to £25.60

Debenhams- Elle tummy control bandeau swimsuit, £32 reduced to £25.60

Lascana - Navy polka dot swimsuit, £42

Lascana – Navy polka dot swimsuit, £42has

And if it has to be a bikini then maybe the cover a multitude of sins, high-waisted, 1950’s trend is the way to go?

Dolce & Gabbana- Striped bandeau bikini, £330

Dolce & Gabbana- Striped bandeau bikini, £330

Norma Kamali- Bill ruched bikini briefs, £150 & Johnny ruched bandeau bikini top, £150

Norma Kamali- Bill ruched bikini briefs, £150 & Johnny ruched bandeau bikini top, £150

Next- Padded underwire bikini top, £16 & High waisted briefs £12

Next- Padded underwire bikini top, £16 & High waisted briefs £12

Freya- Showboat high waisted bikini brief, £27.50 & Showboat underwired halter bikini top, £34.50

Freya- Showboat high-waisted bikini brief, £27.50 & Showboat underwired halter bikini top, £34.50

I’m feeling like that there may be light at the end of this rather dark and chocolate free tunnel and  if all else fails I suppose there’s always kaftans!!

Have a lovely weekend and Bank holiday!

6 thoughts on “Slimming + Sweating = Swimwear Shopping

  1. Oooh some lovely choices though I probably like to bare more skin in a bikini – I really don’t worry too much abut not having rock hard abs – I actually find a string bikini bottom quite flattering as they don’t dig in and create rolls of flesh! As for being hungry all the time – that’s me I LOVE to eat. To help over the Holiday weekend (it’s one here too) I’ve made Thai turkey mince for lettuce wraps, lentil dahl and cous cous salad – so when I need a snack I’ve got lots of healthy choices sitting in the fridge. Now if I can just find wine that I love with zero calories!

    • Please let me know if you find zero calorie wine…at the moment I’m on gin and slim lines!! The healthy snack foods a great idea too, I must get organised!! xx

  2. I have a suck it in black one from Primark as (1) I don’t like being in water which is not bath water (2) I can’t swim (3) I don’t go swimming enough to justify paying a lot but what I can tell you as I embarked on my swimsuit quest last year is that the control ones are total hell to get in and out of. What I don’t get is control bikinis – I just imagine all my bits getting squished out. I had a try of the high waisted brief bikinis – but oh – they emphasised my tummy so. I looked bad. Seriously bad :o(

    Good luck on your quest – be interested to know which one you get in the end. High end or low and what works. And I have to say, I do like the look of the one shouldered ones – a little bit more modern.

    • I know, I’m not keen unless it’s bath water temperature which pretty much means the Indian Ocean. I really like the one shoulder one as well. Have a few more pounds a lot of toning to do before I can even bare contemplating a try on session. You really have to mentally prepare for it don’t you!?! xx

Please leave a comment, I'd love to hear your thoughts. x

